Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 04-26-2011

JordanH is on a distinguished road
JRC Radar - safe usage and opinions

Hi All,

I'm purchasing a boat that comes with a JRC radar. The seller told me the model, but apparently I forgot to write it down; It's a 16 mile model from roughly 2005. I suspect it's a JRC 1000 or JRC 1500 and 2kW or less but won't be able to verify that until next week during the survey.

I've never used radar before, here in the Great Lakes, it's not that necessary so this is all new to me. I seem to recall that in my VHF course they recommended never turning on in a crowded anchorage, yet I've read a number of articles that state a small radar like the JRC I've posted above is good for checking anchor drag and navigating into the anchorage. My question is, what is safe and appropriate usage for this type of radar?
(Yes, I'm familiar with the inverse-square law but I'm not sure what safe power levels are.)

The radar is mounted at what I estimate to be about 20' off the water. I've read a few opinions that 20'+/- is the correct height, others suggested 12' for a low-power, close-up radar like the model above. I doubt I will change the placement but if there's a good reason, I'd like to know about it. Any thoughts?

Lastly, I've found very little information/reviews on the JRC radar models. Are these any good? On the scale of economy, mid-range and high-end, where do these fall? Any good points/bad points that I need to know? Any and all info and opinions are welcome.

Thanks,
J.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-27-2011

MARC2012 is on a distinguished road
I had a 16 mi on a previous boat and was pleased with it,never any trouble.Mounted aprox. 10 ft on mast pole on stern.marc
Old 04-28-2011

Ilenart is on a distinguished road