Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2011

LakePirate is on a distinguished road
How does a Honda Generator work?

I'm not really questioning how it works, but more of if it has a generator of some sort that can produce 2000 watts of power off a small gas engine why has someone not figured out a way to make a similar generator that can be attached to the existing motor already in the boat? Is there something to how it works I don't understand. Remember, I'm not an electrician or an engineer.
Old 07-07-2011

PaulfromNWOnt is on a distinguished road
You can attach a generator to the existing motor. Logistics is the likely answer. The engine in your boat will typically consume far more fuel for a given time than the little honda, plus you'll have to increase the size of the engine compartment to fit the extra hardware. Your engine will already have an alternator that is used to charge the batteries, and that can be replaced with a larger capacity unit which can then be used in conjunction with your battery bank and inverter to produce 110AC.

Commercially available generator systems tend to be less problematic than something cobbled together (as well as cheaper), but there is really nothing stopping you from doing things differently.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-07-2011
Rapscallion

epaolino is on a distinguished road
The Honda EU2000I has a motor that turns an alternator to produce 12vdc and feeds that into an inverter to create 110vac. The main feature is that the electrical load affects the speed of the gas engine. Also the alternator is sized and geared to the engine.