Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 08-29-2011

Scott Vickery is on a distinguished road
Sail lube / wax

I have a jib roller. I just put the jib in it. It was very difficult to get up. Seemed like too much friction from the sail in the groove pf the roller (I am a new newbie, so, may be getting the terminology wrong here). My question is, what can I use to make it more slippery? Wax of some sort? Graphite?

Same question for the main sail. The things that go into the mast groove that holds the sail to the mast seem to be sticky. What can I use to make them more slippery?

Thanks in advance,
Scott
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-29-2011
Señor Member

PorFin is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Vickery View Post
I have a jib roller. I just put the jib in it. It was very difficult to get up. Seemed like too much friction from the sail in the groove pf the roller (I am a new newbie, so, may be getting the terminology wrong here). My question is, what can I use to make it more slippery? Wax of some sort? Graphite?

Same question for the main sail. The things that go into the mast groove that holds the sail to the mast seem to be sticky. What can I use to make them more slippery?

Thanks in advance,
Scott
Scott,

Assuming that the luff tape on your jib is properly sized for the slot in the foil on your roller, you probably don't need to worry about this depending on how often you intend to swap out the headsail.

The slugs on your mainsail are a different story. Take a close look at them to see if they are clean and in good shape. Check their fit within the slot. Clean the inside of the slot -- if someone's been using wax before you, the wax may have built up to the point that it's trapping crap in there and impeding your slugs.