thoughts on electronics - SailNet Community
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 10-02-2011 Thread Starter
thoughts on electronics

I recently puchased a 1983 28ft sloop...a Sirius 28...great boat but the elctronics are fried. We will be investing money in the boat over the next couple of years (bimini, dodger, cushions, new stove - already replaced the head at my wife's direction!). My prioirty is to replace the depth sounder which is not expensive but wondering about the rest. I would like to get a wheel auto-helm and a chartplotter, but am thinking I can get by using my handheld GPS with nautical charts loaded for the time being. Would really llike an autohelm for those long days though. Is the autohelm a totally separate system from the chartplotter? If I was to find a used autohelm would I run into problems putting in a chartplotter later if it wasn't compatible? Obviously I am a newbie to this!
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 6 Old 10-02-2011
The autopilot is separate from the GPS/chartplotter, but most today can be interfaced. Absolutely no reason why you can't install an autopilot now and use your handheld GPS and paper charts for navigation.
post #3 of 6 Old 10-02-2011
You might be interested in this: The West Advisor: West Advisor Articles

Scroll down to electronics.

Stu Jackson, C34, 1986, M25 engine, Rocna 10 (22#)
post #4 of 6 Old 10-02-2011
Do you have a laptop of the previous generation in the back of the closet? Load some variant of Linux on it (Ubuntu being most popular) which will make it fly. Then choose OpenCPN, SeaclearII, or PolarNavy with free charts from NOAA and there you have a chartplotter that will drive most any autopilot. Guess with the money you saved you could buy a TackTic depth and start building a kitty to handle the follow on projects
Just sayin....

s/v Nemesis
Niagara on the Lake Sailing Cub