Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 10-27-2011

inheryouth is on a distinguished road
Marine Rubber Boots?

So this may not be the right forum to be posting in, I guess rubber boots can be considered sailing gear, can't they? Well, I'm new to sailing and still have a very intimidating amount to learn, I've bought my first boat and am going to live on it this winter. I've been told good quality rubber boots are extremely important seeing as how I will be spending a lot of time in them, I have no idea where to start looking or what specific brand to be looking for. Can anyone help? I'm currently in Edmonton, AB for the next few days but will be heading to Vancouver pretty soon. Hoping maybe there will be some shops in Vancouver I can look for boots at.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-27-2011

MarkSF is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by inheryouth View Post
So this may not be the right forum to be posting in, I guess rubber boots can be considered sailing gear, can't they? Well, I'm new to sailing and still have a very intimidating amount to learn, I've bought my first boat and am going to live on it this winter. I've been told good quality rubber boots are extremely important seeing as how I will be spending a lot of time in them, I have no idea where to start looking or what specific brand to be looking for. Can anyone help? I'm currently in Edmonton, AB for the next few days but will be heading to Vancouver pretty soon. Hoping maybe there will be some shops in Vancouver I can look for boots at.

Thanks!
What are they for?

I would have thought that rubber boots would be for long passages in foul weather.

For living on the boat I'd suggest a nice warm pair of slippers or a good pair of hiking boots for going ashore when the weather's nasty.