Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 11-29-2011

Hookturn is on a distinguished road
Newbie wooden mast questions

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to dealing with wooden masts and have a couple of questions about my recent purchase. Just bought a Newport Kite (12' dinghy) that has a 20' wooden mast. The mast did not come with the boat according to the guy I bought it from. He had to add a few extra pieces of wood to make it fit properly (pic below) I only sailed it once and the varnish in many places is suddenly peeling off so I need to re-varnish it. The issue is that the area of the mast that rubs on the circular area it fits into at the bow (sorry don't know what that is called). See the pic below. After just one sail for about an hour, the varnish was worn away and the wood now has a small groove in it. I have a few questions:

(1) Will a new coat of varnish be enough to protect that area or should I use something else either over or under the varnish?

(2) Also, I plan to use a stripper to remove the varnish from the slot the main fits into (again, I don't know the term for it), and don't know how concerned I need to be with getting all of the old varnish out before applying new varnish.

(3) After using the stripper, do i need to figure a way to sand the inside of the slot or can I just varnish it without sanding? The area is not very accessible so if I need to sand it, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

(4) Should I use a uniform amount of varnish on the whole mast or more in certain areas?

Thanks for any advice or suggestions you have!
Attached Thumbnails
Newbie wooden mast questions-100_1823.jpg   Newbie wooden mast questions-100_1822.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 12-05-2011

casey1999 is on a distinguished road