Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2011

BostonSailor is on a distinguished road
yearly maintenance tasks & costs for sailboat

Hi all,

Wondering if you’d be willing to suggest a book/online article (or share personal thoughts) that reflect the likely yearly/ongoing sailboat maintenance tasks and their approx. costs for a 25-30'er? Don Casey’s book “Complete Illustrated Sailboat Maintenance Manual” looks pretty broad and detailed from looking online and I’m interested in your suggestions.

As background, I raced dinghies growing up and for the last dozen years have day-sailed sailed extensively and cruised for 1-2 weeks a year out of a great keelboat club in Boston (~25-40 ft boats.) I’d like to buy a boat in the next few years now that the kids are at a good age to spend more extended time on the water. I'm very comfortable with boat handling, however I have little experience maintaining a boat myself since the club always did that when the boat was returned or the season ending. I’m certain it will take more time and money than even I anticipate, but I’d like to school up on the tasks, time and money (typical repairs, bottom painting, engine maintenance, winterizing, electrical, plumbing, etc.) required before approaching the actual purchase. It might even help push me into or away from particular boats (e.g., outboard vs. desiel, etc.)

Thanks and fair winds!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-04-2011
Tartan 27' owner

CalebD will become famous soon enough
The devil is in the details.
If you go the marina and slip route I'd guess a conservative yearly expense would be around $5K per year (3.5 for summer slip, 1.5 for winter storage). Moorings are usually cheaper and closer to $1K for the summer bringing the yearly nut to more like $3K.