Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 12-22-2011

olddog60 is on a distinguished road
Possible Mast crack

Any thought's on this apparent 1" long vertical hairline crack at the mast immediately above the port aft lower shroud's stemball cup attachment hole.

I'm not sure it is a crack maybe just a deep scratch. How serious and any recommendations are appreciated.

Last edited by olddog60; 03-10-2013 at 07:01 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-22-2011
midlife crisis member

AllThumbs is on a distinguished road
Hmmmm, if it's a crack you should be able to at least stop it from getting worse by drilling a small hole at its end.
Old 12-23-2011

MarkSF is on a distinguished road
Like he said, do that soon!

I'm not a metallurgy expert (but there are some on this forum) but it looks like a crack to me. A dye penetrant inspection would tell you for sure.

If it was me, I think I'd drill it then keep an eye on it. But I might also think about getting someone with a TIG welder to run a bead down it.
Old 12-23-2011

celenoglu is on a distinguished road
That is a crack and it is serious. Most probabably the load of the shroud connection caused it. It is best to weld or apply a suitable patch.
Old 12-23-2011

RichH will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkSF View Post
A dye penetrant inspection would tell you for sure
Good advice .... but do the dye penetrant investigation OFF of the boat as the dye will deeply penetrate porous gel coat ... and you may never get it out.

Even if its 'above' the load point attachment (less serious than 'below' or radiating horizonally ... if it IS a crack then it 'should' be welded and a 'gusset' be placed behind etc. to increase the load bearing strength of spar at this area.