SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Gear & Maintenance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/)
-   -   Radar Issues (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/82144-radar-issues.html)

duchess of montrose 12-28-2011 06:00 PM

Radar Issues

As part of my outfitting my boat a contest 30 i decided to buy an old cheap radar so i found a autohelm st50 dome for 200 bucks which seemed pretty chea but it didnt include a screen or a cable. Now my question is how do i find those things and do i need an st50 screen or can i use a different screen like i found a raymarine rl70 screen for 100 can i uy it will it interface? how does this work im new to radars and chartplotters and interfacing them.

hellosailor 12-28-2011 06:06 PM

I would suggest asking Raymarine what is compatible. There are some units that use the same components inside as other models/brands, but by and large radar systems are incompatible and I wouldn't be surprised if you have to track down working parts for the same system. Of course it becomes harder to know that they are in fact working, when you pick them up one at a time.

CaptMikey 12-28-2011 06:47 PM

Raymarine is pretty nice about answering questions and giving advice. they won't try to sell you something unless the components you have are incompatible. you can always find good stuff on Ebay.

CaptainForce 12-28-2011 09:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CaptMikey (Post 811272)
Raymarine is pretty nice about answering questions and giving advice. they won't try to sell you something unless the components you have are incompatible.............

Is this sarcasm? Is Raymarine that bad?.....or was this a mistake?

olson34 12-29-2011 04:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CaptainForce (Post 811326)
Is this sarcasm? Is Raymarine that bad?.....or was this a mistake?

Whoa.
Are you replying to the correct post??
That post was complementary to Raymarine.