Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2011

duchess of montrose is on a distinguished road
Radar Issues

As part of my outfitting my boat a contest 30 i decided to buy an old cheap radar so i found a autohelm st50 dome for 200 bucks which seemed pretty chea but it didnt include a screen or a cable. Now my question is how do i find those things and do i need an st50 screen or can i use a different screen like i found a raymarine rl70 screen for 100 can i uy it will it interface? how does this work im new to radars and chartplotters and interfacing them.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-28-2011
Plausible Deniability

hellosailor has a spectacular aura about hellosailor has a spectacular aura about
I would suggest asking Raymarine what is compatible. There are some units that use the same components inside as other models/brands, but by and large radar systems are incompatible and I wouldn't be surprised if you have to track down working parts for the same system. Of course it becomes harder to know that they are in fact working, when you pick them up one at a time.
Old 12-28-2011
S/V Second Chance

CaptMikey is on a distinguished road
Raymarine is pretty nice about answering questions and giving advice. they won't try to sell you something unless the components you have are incompatible. you can always find good stuff on Ebay.
Old 12-28-2011

CaptainForce will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptMikey View Post
Raymarine is pretty nice about answering questions and giving advice. they won't try to sell you something unless the components you have are incompatible.............
Is this sarcasm? Is Raymarine that bad?.....or was this a mistake?
Old 12-29-2011

olson34 is on a distinguished road
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainForce View Post
Is this sarcasm? Is Raymarine that bad?.....or was this a mistake?
Whoa.