SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Cooking in a gale.....

2K views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  SVAuspicious 
#1 ·
I thought this looked interesting. It's a tacklebox-looking 12V stove. Uses 12Amps and gets up to 300deg. Designed for truckers. Seems like you could empty cans of whatever into it, safely leave it unattended below, and a little while later, voila! hot food!
MedSailor

RoadPro 12 Volt Portable Stove

Here is a review from Amazon:
"It really gets old eating fast food while out on the road.I'm a trucker and thats all they have in most travel centers.On Christmas my girlfriend got me this,and its the best gift I could have gotten.This is a tackle box stove, and its mainly a food warmer.This will get pretty hot also,and after plugged in for only 10 minutes the bottom plate has plenty of heat.I can pull into a rest area,throw some hot pockets or burritos in it.Then head down the road and then pull over and have lunch in about an hour.This stove saves me a whole lot of money as well,as i really don't have a need to eat out when I'm on the road.In the morning i can put some sausage biscuits in it and in 30 min. there piping hot.As for dinner i can warm up leftover pizza,lasagna,soups, or pretty much any frozen food and it comes out great.If theres any negative thing to this stove,I'm not sure what it would be.Its prefect for a someone running solo or a team.So if you want to eat healthier on the road or just to be able to bring some real good food with you,this would be the item to have.