Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2012

benajah is on a distinguished road
Electrical system install

Hi all,
I just bought a 1968 Westerly Cirrus 22 from a guy for 600 bucks. Honestly, the hull, rigging is in great shape. Even has a running outboard. Well, the hull needs cosmetic work and bottom paint, probably has blisters, but it is sound. The boom and mast are original and the boom is even still shiny. I honestly think it spent most of its life as a livaboard. I do know it has been lived in for at least the past 15 years and rarely sailed. Guy needed to leave town in a hurry and needed to get rid of the boat fast.
Anyway, the boat does not have a marine electrical system. It has cabin and exterior lights, a place for the battery, etc but the wiring was demoed years and years ago. I am a good mechanic, woodworker, and good at working on hulls, but despise messing with electrical.
Any clue at all what a marine electrician might charge to basically install an electrical system on a 22 foot boat? Not talking about some 2012 35 foot fancy yacht with a lot of bells and whistles, but just a breaker panel, wire the lights, battery, shore power, charger, etc. just a real basic install job on a small boat?
I'm not one to hire contractors to do things, but electrical is a different story to me, and I don't have an idea if I would be looking at 500 dollars or 5000.
Thanks

Last edited by benajah; 03-11-2012 at 12:37 AM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-11-2012

MobiusALilBitTwisted is on a distinguished road
Re: Electrical system install

First Question, how do you plan on using this Fine 22' sailboat you now have?

1985 Venture 25
Fl Gulf Coast

"Ouch!
My eyes are bleeding."
Bob Perry

GrahamO
"Möbius,You need another drink. You are starting to make sense".
Old 03-11-2012

Quote:
Originally Posted by MobiusALilBitTwisted View Post