Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2012

Leander is on a distinguished road
Planning boat yard time for DIY haul-out

Hello all,

I'll bet there are many posts on this subject in the archives, but I just couln't figure out the search words to find them.

I need to take my 1972, 35', Ericson 35-2 out of the water in San Diego very soon, within the next 4 weeks, to complete work that insurance co requires to renew policy.

I'm new to boat, poorly maintained over many years, I have to assume the worst about everything.

I would like to try to do everything myself, have enthusiasm, "Good Old Boat", tools, but no experience. Am taking a week off work.

1. Anyone have a link to a "As long as you're putting your boat in the yard for work, be sure to consider doing this". list?

2. "Before you take your boat out, be sure to do these preparations." list?

3. "These jobs will take you this much time" list?

4. "You'd be crazy to try this yourself" list?

To give you an idea of my list already:

1. Make a plumbing diagram of all existing through-hulls.
2. Decide where new through hulls needed, what to plug up.
3. Get a working depth gauge sender.
4. Learn condition of every through hull from both sides. Make all through hulls safe, and of excellent quality to last for many years. Expect possibility I may need to remove, recondition, and replace every through hull.

5. Fix what are probably significant defects in hull. (Have no leaks, however)
6. paint bottom
7. Paint sides.
8. Fix a rudder very loose in its rudder housing-may need packing, bearings, don't know.
9. Re-align shaft.
10. Check shaft packing gland, cutless bearing.
11. Replace propeller.

Thanks to one and all for any ideas!
I blog on EY.o Welcome Page.

Leander

Last edited by Leander; 03-21-2012 at 09:47 PM. Reason: fix minor typos
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-21-2012

johnnyquest37 is on a distinguished road