Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2012

sfbaysailing is on a distinguished road
Please critique my charging schematic

Hello everyone

I have a 1978 Catalina 30, which needs basically an entirely new charging and electrical system. Unfortunately, I'm not very experienced with electrical stuff, so I've been reading a lot here, talking with people, and doing research, and I've come up with the schematic that I have attached here. I'd love people's feedback, especially on wire gauges etc. Also, do you think I could get away with a Home Depot crimper for the big battery wires? If not, is that something I could find someone to do for me.....thanks for your help!
greg
Attached Thumbnails
Please critique my charging schematic-amici_electrical2-1.jpg  
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-26-2012

danr620 is on a distinguished road
Wink Re: Please critique my charging schematic

Greg,

Hello, Electronic tech here, not boat tech, but anyway. The crimp is ok if tight and thats the way the charger people want the heavy wires. My question is what draw will the starter have? What guage is that wire, couldn't read it. Everything might be fine.

good luck

Dan
Old 04-26-2012

Re: Please critique my charging schematic

Hey Dan

Thanks for the reply.
The wire for the starter is 1 gauge, which is already existing. I'm just going to re-route the current wire to a different battery bank.

Thanks for checking the system out!
greg
Old 04-26-2012

johnnyquest37 is on a distinguished road

What size fuse are you using?

LET'S GET SERIOUS ABOUT REMOVING POLITCAL TAG LINES -- NOW!
Old 04-26-2012

Hey johnny....
I was thinking 150amp
g
Old 04-26-2012

johnnyquest37 is on a distinguished road

Thanks - am looking to do something similar, and sized the fuse at 135 amp, but not sure that is sufficient.

LET'S GET SERIOUS ABOUT REMOVING POLITCAL TAG LINES -- NOW!
Old 04-26-2012
Plausible Deniability