SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Gear & Maintenance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/)
-   -   Where to get Butyl tape? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/86984-where-get-butyl-tape.html)

Paladin27 05-03-2012 03:15 PM

Where to get Butyl tape?

I've read several threads on here about using butyl tape to bed deck hardware, but I've called all the local marine stores in my area and they've never even heard of the stuff. Who sells butyl tape?

rhsanborn 05-03-2012 03:35 PM

Re: Where to get Butyl tape?

This looks promising: 3/4" x 30' Gray Butyl Tape: Mobile Home Parts Store

I've never used it before though. Maine Sail also has it listed on his site:

Need Butyl Tape ?? Photo Gallery by Compass Marine at pbase.com

Paladin27 05-03-2012 03:36 PM

I was hoping somebody would suggest a local retailer. I wanted to go work on the boat after work. ;-)

rhsanborn 05-03-2012 03:39 PM

RV supplier, possibly? Others have recommended auto parts or auto glass installers. I think they use the black stuff though.

Paladin27 05-03-2012 03:42 PM

RV supplier sounds like a good start. I'll see if any of them carry it. I tried a couple auto glass places, nobody had any in white.

cb32863 05-03-2012 03:57 PM

From all the times that people have asked about this, Maine Sail has said that you need to be careful with the RV stuff as it is more of a putty than a tape like he sells. As for color, not sure if that really matters as you trim it off anyway..

EDIT: Not sure where Maine gets his.

Barquito 05-03-2012 04:08 PM

Quote:

As for color, not sure if that really matters as you trim it off anyway..
The stuff I got was grey. I would be nervous if it was black, however.

rmeador 05-03-2012 04:25 PM

I bought some through Amazon.com, and I also bought some from a local plastics supplier that also sold me the new plexiglass for one of my hatches. Both are grey. I've never seen any other color.

Tim R. 05-03-2012 04:55 PM