Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 05-11-2012

Irunbird is on a distinguished road
Lashing for Dyneema lifelines?

Hi, Folks- I'm in the process of replacing the lifelines on my O-30 with Dyneema, and I've placed eye-splices in the ends of them, and plan to lash them with 2.8mm spiderline. I've never done a lashing before, and can't seem to locate any online Youtube videos or articles on any of the common knot web-pages to show how it's done. Zanshin has photos on his home page (Zanshin I Lifelines - wire replaced with Dyneema), but there's no description there, either. Can anyone point me in a good direction for this sort of thing?

Ray
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-11-2012

mm2187 is on a distinguished road
Re: Lashing for Dyneema lifelines?

Check out the link below. I think your using the wrong terminology. It is not called lashing it is called whipping. I think if you were to google whipping a halyard or something along those lines you will find alot more information.

New England Ropes - Splicing Guide
Old 05-11-2012

Freerider is on a distinguished road

Are you talking about doing this. I found it at http://www.colligomarine.com/Synthetic-lifelines.htm. Not sure about the step by step, so really I'm no help at all.
Attached Thumbnails
Lashing for Dyneema lifelines?-new_goodlifeline1.jpg  
Old 05-11-2012