Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2012
Senior, junior members

our38 is on a distinguished road
question regarding electric head vs manual

Just purchased a 1980 ericson 38' which needs a little attention before we can start spending much time on her. One of the first things is to get the head working. The manual head probably works, but it's not connected to the holding tank (never been connected) and hasn't been operated in maybe eleven years. Before spending time and money messing with it, I thought I'd check to see if anyone might recommend installing an electric head ? If I have to go through the system and purchase parts to get it all properly connected, I thought I'd check to see if electric is the way to go. By the way, I'm very new to all this, but couldn't resist the temptation to spend time sailing.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-22-2012

puddinlegs is on a distinguished road
Re: question regarding electric head vs manual

IMHO, just replace the manual head/holding tank/etc... as necessary. I'm kind of in the 'keep it simple and stupid' camp. Fancy heads are nice until they aren't. Again your mileage may vary.
Old 06-22-2012

Capt Len is on a distinguished road

After 30 years of pumping and cleaning manual heads I put in an electric unit. Just push button #1 or #2 .That simple and every one loves it.(I carry passengers) I flush with fresh, with salt optional. but that requires a designated pump. Unit stays clean and no build up or smell. So it's easy to fill the holding tank fast and the need for more fresh more often is noticeable.I hold 300 gal and its available everywhere so no prob for me. One method is a bucket in the cockpit, other is electric.
Old 06-22-2012

Minnewaska will become famous soon enough Minnewaska will become famous soon enough