Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 07-05-2012

wrbanwal is on a distinguished road
Troubleshooting Fresh Water System

Hello fellow boaters

I have a Jabsco model 36800 electric fresh water pump and need help understanding where to start troubleshooting my problem

After initial priming the system, when I run a facet the pump runs fine and shuts off. But after not using the water for a period of time, when I run a facet, it starts out fine then losses pressure and starts to spit air. then the pump does not shut off until I "re-prime" or let the pump come back to pumping water and no air.

any ideas?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-05-2012

BarryL is on a distinguished road
Re: Troubleshooting Fresh Water System

Hey,

It sounds like the pump is drawing air. Have you serviced the water system recently? Have you changed filters or anything like that? If so, check what you did first. If not, you'll have to check each fitting, from the tank to the pump. I had a similar problem a few years ago. It started right after I cleaned a strainer before the pump. When I put the strainer back together I tightened it too much and cracked it. The crack was very fine, but enough to let air into the system and the pump would never turn off because of that.

Barry

Good luck,
Barry
Mt. Sinai, NY

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 07-05-2012
Senior Cruiser

sea_hunter is on a distinguished road
Funny, I had a similar problem a number of years ago. Check the inlet side of the pump make sure water is running freely to the point of the pump, ie make sure nothing is restricting the water from the tank. I actually found a butt connector stuck in the water line.
Old 07-05-2012

bljones has a spectacular aura about bljones has a spectacular aura about