Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2012

Dog Ship is on a distinguished road
Opinions on anchor swivels

I have a 45 lb. CQR with 200 feet of 5/8 BBB chain and 400 feet of rope anchor rode attached.
I have never used an anchor swivel before, but on the same hand I have never had to deal with so much chain and rode before, it's over 400 lbs dry.
I have a Lofrans vertical windlass with 880 lbs. of pulling force.
I am a believer in keeping it simple but with 200 feet of chain a swivel seems to make a lot of sense.
I don't anchor that much and most of my anchoring is in <50 feet of water. The extra rode is for a stern anchor, stern tieing, or an emergency bow anchoring.
The reason for a swivel is obvious but has anyone had problems with there swivels, ie; all out failure, falling apart, speading apart.
What designs are best, clamshell, dual rings with a bolt, dual barrels with an internal bolt? Some are stainless, some a galvinized.
What seems to work the best?
Constructive opinions please.
No slobbering on the charts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 07-07-2012
Mermaid Hunter

SVAuspicious will become famous soon enough
Re: Opinions on anchor swivels

There are lots of failures associated with swivels.

More chain isn't a driver toward a swivel. The biggest driver is a long periods at anchor in a reversing current. If you're spending a weekend in a river I don't think you need a swivel. If you're spending a month somewhere with reversing currents or shifting winds you might consider it. Alternatively you could just go sailing every few days and not worry about it.
jerryrlitton likes this.
beware "cut and paste" sailors.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 07-07-2012