Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2012

JeffTT is on a distinguished road
Bow Eye?

Hi All,

I have recently purchased a lightning 19. Its in good shape, but needs a little cosmetic work such as some wood trim and some minor ding repair in the hull. someone also told me that i may want to put in a bow eye so that when i get a decent trailer (the one it came on is s@#$) i can winch it up onto the trailer easily. I find myself a little intimidated since i have never worked with fiberglass before. Any info would be appreciated....i have no experience with this stuff but i am not a stranger of working with basic tools around the house. seriously, any info on brands, places to buy, tools to use or not to use, etc all info is welcome.

thanks!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-21-2012
HANUMAN

RobGallagher is on a distinguished road
Re: Bow Eye?

West Marine website has some great information on working with West System brand epoxy/glass.
How To Use
Old 07-21-2012
Closet Powerboater

MedSailor is on a distinguished road

Drill 2 holes for your U-bolt ABOVE THE WATERLINE. Cover everything with copious amounts of 3M 5200 (enough so it squeezes out when you tighten the nuts on the U-bolt) and it should work out just fine.

+

=

I'd save the part about learning how to work with fiberglass until you really need to.

MedSailor

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I have a sauna on my boat, therefore I win.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 07-22-2012

Stumble is on a distinguished road