Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 10-07-2012

aravella is on a distinguished road
Identifying the type of sail

Hi, I am a newbie who happens to have a very large sail and no sailboat at the moment. I would like to sell the sail, but need some info to help identify it. I might have to pull it out again, to see the details. Basically, how do I tell if it's a mainsail or a headsail? Neither corner was 90 degrees. It's a Hood and it's dimensions are 68.5', 69.5', and the foot is 38.5'. It seems in really good shape. It has triple stitching and the webbing seems strong. No worn spots. I would really appreciate some help identifying it and where to sell it! I have a lot of other pics too if they would help. Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Identifying the type of sail-img_20120622_121701-sm.jpg  
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-07-2012
Barquito

Barquito is on a distinguished road
Re: Identifying the type of sail

A few more details would help. I would imagine a mainsail would be about 90 degrees at the tack. Is there a bold rope on the foot? Battens? BTW, how did you end up with this big-mother of a sail?
Old 10-07-2012

overbored is on a distinguished road

with those dimensions it would be a Genoa for a 55 ' or so boat. dacron sails this size do not sell for very well, even the used sail dealers only get around $ 500 to $800. just not much market for sails that big. you could sell it to a used sail dealer like Minney's on the west or Bacon in the east but you would have to get it to them and then you will only get about $200 for it. sails like that all all over the place and many that have old sails for there boat that they no longer use will give them away just so they do not have to store them. just took 7 old racing sail for a 42' race boat to minney's and we got $300 in store credit for all of them
Old 10-07-2012
Plausible Deniability