SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Gear & Maintenance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/)
-   -   Autopilot replacement recommendations (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/93830-autopilot-replacement-recommendations.html)

patrscoe 11-05-2012 09:41 PM

Autopilot replacement recommendations

I would like to replace my old autopilot this winter. Anyone have good recommendation on a model, package and manuf? I have a simnet network with all Simrad instruments and chartplotter but Simrad autopilots are very expensive.

bigdogandy 11-05-2012 10:05 PM

Re: Autopilot replacement recommendations

I have a Raymarine x-5 wheelpilot on my boat and really like it, but it would be too small for your boat. I am by no means an expert on any of this, but I looked at a lot of different systems before I went with the wheel pilot, but if I recall correctly the Simrad SD10 below decks drive and and AC12 computer would probably work well with your boat and you could probably get a package for just over $2k.....not too bad for a system that should be plug and play with your existing network.

lostatsi 11-05-2012 10:10 PM

I don't know how big or heavy your boat is,how much and what kind of sailing you do. I can tell you this. My 40' at about#20000 came with a raymarine that was driven off the wheel. It worked fine under light conditions but would let go when under a medium to heavy helm. It was an older unit and started acting up, so I replaced it with a Raymarine st70 with a x10 course computer and type 1 linear drive. Rated at #24000 it works great.
I personally feel the autohelm is the most used and appreciated piece of equipment on my boat. I am not an old salt or hardcore sailor. We are liveaboards.
It cost me about $2800. I installed myself and cannot imagine my life without it.
The manufactures will recommend the size you need for your boat type and weight, but go bigger! Size matters,lol,