Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 12-19-2012

jambone is on a distinguished road
Sewing in new battens: Asking for some advice!

I have a Bayfield 29' and the mainsail has seen some hard times. As of now it is missing it's 2nd and 3rd battens, and the batten pockets have ripped and been torn to shreds. I'm still fairly new to sailing and just need some advice, first off, if I were to sew in new pockets, would I be able to get the sail material at any chandlery, or would I have to order it from somewhere?
Would generic material be okay? It is a dacron sail.
Also, what material could I use for battens? Would I have to buy this on special order as well, or could I buy a sheet of wood or plastic and make my own?
Finally, the sewing will be by hand, do I need a special sail sewing kit?

Thanks a lot guys!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-19-2012

chucklesR is a jewel in the rough chucklesR is a jewel in the rough chucklesR is a jewel in the rough
Re: Sewing in new battens: Asking for some advice!

It needs to be dacron, and the battens typically fiberglass. Sailrite.com | Home is a good supplier of both, or Discount Marine and Boat Supplies - Inflatable Sales - Defender. You can also probably buy what you need right here at sailnet.

That's the fact part, now the opinion. If your sail is that badly beaten putting in new batten pockets won't help because you really need to get it right- battens come in all shapes, strengths etc - and just guess won't get it right. You'll wind up with a baggy sail and poor shape. Battens have a lot of force on them, the idea of one shooting out the sail when you tack should be on your mind.