Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 12-30-2012

firemagi is on a distinguished road
Ham License Advice

I have no experience with Ham and am considering taking a course to get my basic license. Because my application will be 95% in the marine environment, I'm wondering if anyone who has gotten their license can tell me if it makes a difference where I take the course from? For example, is it preferred that I take it from a sailing club, or is a ham club just as efficient, or is an online course just as good. As I have found out, the course cost varies dramatically from venue to venue and I'm curious about the difference the venue actually makes.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-30-2012

windward54 is on a distinguished road
Re: Ham License Advice

All three methods will get you licensed, and have worked for everyone. And with the proper study guide, you can even just study the book, take on-line tests for practice and pass the actual test if you want to. I took a couple of classes with Gordon West, and was glad I did. The tech class was geared for emergency response and the general class was more boater oriented. A good instructor will go over the uses of the various equipmen, and proper radio etiquette, things you just don't get from reading a book and taking a test. Sailing/yacht clubs will have a boating slant, which tends to make the material a little more interesting.
Old 12-30-2012

Cruiser2B is on a distinguished road