Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2013

JoeLena is on a distinguished road
Finish for new mahogany

Hello all. I've been refitting an older Rhodes 19, and am ready for the finishing touches. The boat has new mahogany throughout and I'd like to ask for recommendations on finishing the new wood. It is my first boat, so not sure on what is best. I'm a woodworker, and like a nice finish, so I don't want to just throw anything on her.

I see that Cetol is popular and looks like it would do well. I would like to have something as clear as practical and not glossy. The boat will be covered most of the time, and garaged a good bit, so it will not be exposed to the elements so much. I'm not adverse to maintaining the finish, but would rather spend time on the water of course.

The varnished look is not that appealing to me, but perhaps I've just seen worse than average work.

Other ideas on what to use?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-15-2013
Move over Joan Rivers!

deniseO30 will become famous soon enough deniseO30 will become famous soon enough
Re: Finish for new mahogany

In or out? Cetol makes a clear, but varnish does really really well on mahogany. True varnish will go very dark with age, so you may want to go with spar urethane "varnish"
Photos please!

My boat is for sale.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 03-15-2013

Out. Yeah, I really do not like the darker look, so the clear would work better.
Old 03-15-2013

bljones has a spectacular aura about bljones has a spectacular aura about

If you would rather spend time on the water than refinishing, forget Cetol and simply varnish it RIGHT the first time.
Or paint it.
I have a buttload of wood on my boat, all of it finished bright, none of it finished with Cetol.