Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2013

Arjen is on a distinguished road
bottom

I'm going to do my bottom, but im new to this. Also, keep in mind we are talking about a 40 year old boat and money is an important consideration.

There are some scratches and things that look like a bit more than scratches on that need to be filled up. No osmosis, but just damage that goes deeper than the paint and whatever other top layers there may be. Some places, espescially on the bottom of the keel where you are looking at core layers of fibre glass. Other than that, layers of paint and/or gel coat that are bladdering off here and there. Finally, there is one area that has an extensive recent fibreglass repair. (a hole that was fixed) So there it is not the original material that after 40 years i can trust to not blister.

So i will need grind out those holes, fill them up with filler. Thats obvious. If there is no osmosis, how important is it to give it time to dry out and how much time would it need to dry out before i apply anything ? Note that i am in the a tropical climate with humid high temperatures. A am advised to use a mixture of fibreglass resin, fibreglass cut to small pieces and a white powder they name airofibre or something. Sounds good ?

Then comes the layers. I was advised by the shipyard to grind the whole bottom bare to the fibreglass, apply the filler, "paint" the whole thing with polyester resin, then apply barrier coat, then antifouling. Needless to say, this is a hell of a job and the barriercoat adds a bunch to the cost.
Some other boaters out here advised me to just put gelcoat (30$ a gallon right here) on the bare hull and then the antifouling.