Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 04-21-2013
kp44

Elewese is on a distinguished road
Cape Horn on larger boats

Posted in the wrong forum last time--oh well, a newbie here.
I am considering buying a Cape Horn wind vane for my Kelly Peterson 44 with a displacement of 33,000 lbs. My other choice is the Auto Helm vane but it is a bit bulky. No others will fit due to the radar/solar panel arch in the back. I have found many articles and comments for boats in the mid 30 foot range but few in the mid 40 foot range Any comments would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-21-2013
Bristol 45.5 - AiniA

killarney_sailor is on a distinguished road
Re: Cape Horn on larger boats

I would talk to the vendors and see what larger boats they are on and what the success has been. They will not sell to a boat that is too big. Bad referrals are not good. We have a Monitor on a Bristol 45.5 (40,000 lbs) and it has been wonderful. Don't know enough about the Cape Horn to comment, but it seems a bit lighter in construction.
Old 04-21-2013

outbound is on a distinguished road