Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-10-2013

Pcpk is on a distinguished road
Good First Boat

Looking to buy my first boat and looking for any suggestions/advice. Will be sailing in and around NY Harbor, LI Sound and will be mooring in a river so think I need a shoal draft. I'm a novice so looking for something easy to sail and that will sleep at least 2 couples...thinking 30-35 feet and spending $10-15k so used obviously. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-10-2013
Senior Slacker

SlowButSteady is on a distinguished road
Re: Good First Boat

Get a dinghy and sail the Bejesus out of it. When you feel that you really know how to sail, THEN move up to a smaller (20-foot-ish) keelboat. When you get tired of that, THEN start looking at bigger boats -- at that point you'll be in a much better position to make a choice you won't come to regret.
Charlotte Bacon, Daniel Barden, Rachel Davino, Olivia Josephine Gay, Ana M. Marquez-Greene, Dylan Hockley, Dawn Hochsprung, Madeleine F. Hsu, Catherine V. Hubbard, Chase Kowalski, Jesse Lewis, James Mattioli , Grace McDonnell, Anne Marie Murphy, Emilie Parker, Jack Pinto, Noah Pozner, Caroline Previdi, Jessica Rekos, Avielle Richman, Lauren Rousseau, Mary Sherlach, Victoria Soto, Benjamin Wheeler, Allison N. Wyatt
The Following User Says Thank You to SlowButSteady For This Useful Post:
TTC (06-11-2013)
Old 06-10-2013

FlyingJunior is on a distinguished road
Good First Boat

Or, life is short, buy the boat you want now. I will defer to the residents experts as to recommendations....( you can be a novice and still buy a keelboat)
Old 06-10-2013

BarryL is on a distinguished road

Hello,