Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2013

Pcpk is on a distinguished road
First Boat - Nunsuch?

I'm in the beginning stages of looking for a first boat and in-spite of some of it's drawbacks (pointing, etc) I'm being drawn to a Nonsuch 30 or 33 and was looking for some input, advice or other suggestions. But first a little background on myself and some of the things I would like out of a boat and what attracts me to a Nonsuch.

First, I'm a novice sailor but spending this summer racing, sailing/learning with friends and possibly taking a proper sailing class over the winter so the simplicity of the "wishbone-cat rig' is interesting, I don't want complicated.

Second, I'm 6'5 and plan on weekend-ing, cruising (no racing) and using the boat as a "floating vacation cottage" along the LI Sound, Hudson, Barnegat etc. so I want max space/headroom which the N-such has.

Third, my wife and I are planning to start a family and want to take the kids with us from the youngest age. The Nonsuch's large VERY enclosed cockpit seems like a safe choice for keeping active toddlers contained, not scrambling over the rail and again the large cabin will also be a bonus with extra crew.

So that's about it in a nutshell, any ideas, suggestions or input will be appreciated.Thanks!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-26-2013

davidpm is on a distinguished road
Re: First Boat - Nunsuch?

I sailed a nunsuch a couple summers ago.

The size below is hard to beat and it seemed well made.
The good things speak for themselves so I'll mention the things that I noticed were a little different.

There is no topping lift or for-stay so the mast is a little bendy.
If I was motoring in a little chop into the wind with the sail up, sheet-ed tight it was wise to sit down.