SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   My own mooring on L.I. Sound? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/100913-my-own-mooring-l-i-sound.html)

GilligansIsle 06-29-2013 09:11 AM

My own mooring on L.I. Sound?

Hi

I'm new to the north shore of Long Island. (Suffolk County). Waterfront.
Though I have two harbors nearby (Port Jeff and Mt. Sinai) what's the rules about having a mooring in the Sound off my property? It would be a lot more convenient and cheaper, right?

blutoyz 06-29-2013 09:27 AM

Re: My own mooring on L.I. Sound?

You first have to track down the Harbormaster to get the ball rolling. I will cost an initial $1000 - $1500 so it will be cheaper but more convenient is a matter of opinion.
I have my dinghy right behind my house and my mooring a couple hundred yards away. I may get a slip next year to make it more "convenient" for wife, dogs, friends, etc...

GilligansIsle 06-29-2013 09:54 AM

Thx blutoyz...

I'll look into that. i wasn't sure individual moorings were permitted in the sound. Thought we were restricted to harbors or mooring fields.

CalebD 06-29-2013 10:21 AM

The problem with putting a mooring in the LI Sound (proper) versus one of it's protected harbors or bays is that one day this summer we will have a tropical storm or even hurricane pass by. In an event like that the Sound can become quite rough and dangerous - which is why you don't see any moorings in the Sound.

Having said that, if you set up a 2nd mooring on the Sound to use in fair weather with a primary mooring in one of the harbors you would be ok. I'm just not sure who or where you would go to get permission to do so.
Likely there is some old salt with a work barge in Mt. Sinai who could tell you which gov't bureau you'd need to petition. He'd probably also tell you you are crazy...