SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   anyone who's done the trip from long beach to catalina. feedback please (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/100928-anyone-whos-done-trip-long-beach-catalina-feedback-please.html)

jeffreyosborne90 06-29-2013 10:47 PM

anyone who's done the trip from long beach to catalina. feedback please

Ok so I've been around boatd on lakes for roughly 15 years but recently bought a 28ft bayliner cabin cruiser for ocean use. I'm new to operating a boat in ocean waters and I would like to makd a trip to catalina island soon with some friends and family. I have a marine vhf radio and lifevest. I also have a liferaft. What all is needed for this trek and what things should keep in mind when doing so? Should I have a experienced boatdr who's made the trip before ride along with me first? What kind of navigation equipment should I invest in? I do know a lil about the 350 small block and am an active seatow member. Thanks all feedback will be appreciated. Heres a pic of my boathttps://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.n...09528400_o.jpg

jfurlong 06-30-2013 01:17 AM

Re: anyone who's done the trip from long beach to catalina. feedback please

Check the weather forecast.

jeffreyosborne90 06-30-2013 01:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jfurlong (Post 1051931)
Check the weather forecast.

Yeah I tend to check them frequently. I plan to have someone experienced come with or just pretty much follow a catalina charter vessel out

jeffreyosborne90 06-30-2013 01:20 AM

Is it a pretty calm cruise

sww914 06-30-2013 01:26 AM