anyone who's done the trip from long beach to catalina. feedback please - SailNet Community

Search Sailnet:

forums  store  

Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2013

jeffreyosborne90 is on a distinguished road
anyone who's done the trip from long beach to catalina. feedback please

Ok so I've been around boatd on lakes for roughly 15 years but recently bought a 28ft bayliner cabin cruiser for ocean use. I'm new to operating a boat in ocean waters and I would like to makd a trip to catalina island soon with some friends and family. I have a marine vhf radio and lifevest. I also have a liferaft. What all is needed for this trek and what things should keep in mind when doing so? Should I have a experienced boatdr who's made the trip before ride along with me first? What kind of navigation equipment should I invest in? I do know a lil about the 350 small block and am an active seatow member. Thanks all feedback will be appreciated. Heres a pic of my boat
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-30-2013

jfurlong is on a distinguished road
Re: anyone who's done the trip from long beach to catalina. feedback please

Check the weather forecast.
Old 06-30-2013

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfurlong View Post
Check the weather forecast.
Yeah I tend to check them frequently. I plan to have someone experienced come with or just pretty much follow a catalina charter vessel out
Old 06-30-2013

Is it a pretty calm cruise