SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Docking for Dummies (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/101438-docking-dummies.html)

emcentar 07-16-2013 06:45 PM

Docking for Dummies

New boat owner here. I'm having some anxiety about backing out of my slip, after failing to get enough momentum for steerage on a recent attempt and having the prop walk and wind spin my boat clockwise when I was attempting to turn her counter-clockwise.

Ideally, I'd like a fool-proof (anxiety proof?) way to reverse out of the slip, against the prop walk, particularly while I'm still a novice. This method of using a stern spring line looks appealing, but I'm worried that I don't understand how it could go wrong, and what to do if it does. Is it really as simple as this video makes it look?

So far I haven't had much problem getting her back in the slip (fatal last words, I'm sure) although I'm still a little uncertain which lines to use to completely stop the boat while we tie her up. Any tips?

Many thanks,
E.

Minnewaska 07-16-2013 06:55 PM

Re: Docking for Dummies

Capt Jack is a classic. I met him at the Annapolis Boat Show several years ago. Nice guy too. He has an entire docking DVD. You should grab a copy. He's right on.

barefootnavigator 07-16-2013 07:04 PM

Use the motor to stop the boat :) If your prop walk is in the wrong direction can you switch to a better slip? What type of boat do you have and motor? An incoming or outgoing tide might also be part of the culprit/savior. I suggest you take a booze cruise every night at sunset, the dock will be mostly empty and wind calm, do it 30 or 40 times till you can do it in your sleep. Have a few friends to fend you off.

Alex W 07-16-2013 07:04 PM

I have the same boat as you.

Can you better explain your docking situation? This is what I've got: