Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2013

blutoyz is on a distinguished road
Trip to Block Island...

I am really not much of a cruiser yet as this is my first year with this boat. I am curious about a trip to Block Island though. Some friends do an annual sail out there so I can tag along but I would like to know the area before venturing out of course.
Where do I anchor overnight on the island to be within a dighy ride to get some food and drink? It is an overnight trip from Upper Narragansett Bay where I am moored and would like to make sure that it is a comfortable one.

It is not a plan this year but one never knows
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-22-2013

Tempest is on a distinguished road
Re: Trip to Block Island...

Blu, You'd anchor in Great Salt Pond on the western side of the island. You could head to the 1 bi on the northern tip of the island leaving it and the island to port then follow the coast to the entrance to the pond. The entrance is pretty straight forward if there's no fog, narrow but plenty deep enough in the channel. The main channel is straight ahead. The anchorage area is to port of the main channel. Generally speaking the further away you are from the docks the less crowded you'll be. Make sure you get a good set, and check your swing in relationship to those around you. I'd avoid any shallow mounds. And there is a restricted area. Check your chart.

I don't know how far up the bay you are, but you probably could make this trip in a day.

In addition to anchoring, there are town moorings 1st come 1st serve ( green balls) There are private mooring balls that may be available for rent if the owners are away
( assigned by the harbormaster, ch 12 ) And then there are slips at a couple of marinas.