Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2013

ck.mecha is on a distinguished road
Making the step to a keelboat

Alright, im going to try not to make this into a "what boat?" thread why still looking for guidance. Ill find a local boat that speaks to me but I have questions on my search.

I live on a 37,000 acre inland lake and Ive been sailing dinghys for a few years. Im confident in my sailing abilities, but there are things you just dont have to do with a dinghy that you do with a keel. Whats the downlow? What do I need to know that im probably overlooking?

1)All the boats im looking at are in the 18'-22' range with drafts around 3'. Fixed keel. How will I fare in an inland lake? The draft on a laser is 2'7" so it shouldnt be a problem?

2) Trailer launching. Am I going to need a steep ass ramp and a massive truck? Boats Im looking at can be trailer launched and have weights ~1500#

3) I have a dock with about 6' draft below generally. I could never dock my dinghys but how about docking? We get tons of traffic so if i just pull up along the dock with bumpers im sure it would destroy the boat in a matter of months. How about mooring just off the dock?

4) Detunning for singlehanding? Remove jib and reef sail? I want to be able to sail often and all year round so I need to figure out how to stay dry while still keeping a fun boat.