Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2013

orionmetz is on a distinguished road
Liveaboard Documentary?

Hey everyone!

So here's the deal, I'm a filmmaker, younger youtube generation (Boo), but I've made traditional features as well. I've been obsessed with the idea of living aboard since I was 19 and in the army and after 6 years of idiocy my brain finally decided to connect those 2 dots...

Why not make a movie about the process?

We could set a timeline and destination, like a year to get to the Bahamas, then film the whole process (boat purchase, moving aboard, learning to sail, explaining to family, working from the boat, and eventual push off), we could do interviews with longer term liveaboards to talk about the lifestyle, the ups and downs...

Best case it could introduce a new generation of people to the water, at the very least it's something to show families to help them grasp WHY someone would chose a life like that.

Still working the specifics together, but what do you guys think? looking for feedback from anyone; please give opinions!
davidpm likes this.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-26-2013

woozee is on a distinguished road
Re: Liveaboard Documentary?

Cheers man! That sounds like a great idea. I've had the thought cross my mind multiple times this year.

Do you have any examples of your work online that I can check out?
Old 08-27-2013

justflie is on a distinguished road

My wife and I have thoroughly enjoyed following the Shards on their travels. They're a liveaboard couple who turned their life into a TV show. Really great stuff. distantshores.ca. I purchased through Vimeo but they also have DVDs. Their old stuff is all in SD but the last couple of seasons are in HD.