Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2013

fgarrettmunnoch is on a distinguished road
Sailing Product Research

Hi All
My name is Francis and I am a student at Dundee University. I need your help. I have entered into my final year studying product design and as a sailor for most of my life i would like to connect my hobby with my course. I am looking to create a product that has emotional attachment to the owner and is something that can be passed from generation to generation without the need for it to be through away or forgotten about. If anyone could tell me about parts of their boats/objects on, or in their boats that have this emotional attachment it would really help me out. It is quite an obscure question so if i have not described it enough please ask me more questions.
thanks
Francis
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-17-2013
Asleep at the wheel

jimgo is on a distinguished road
Re: Sailing Product Research

I'm refreshing/rehabbing my boat, so I'll have an emotional attachment to most of it, especially the hull. Are you looking to create something ornamental or functional? Some functional things, like the tool for opening the fuel/water/holding tank covers, might be good candidates, but others, like winch handles, probably won't be.
fgarrettmunnoch likes this.
1975 Albacore 15

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 09-17-2013
A mod and her dragon

DRFerron is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by fgarrettmunnoch View Post
... I am looking to create a product that has emotional attachment to the owner and is something that can be passed from generation to generation without the need for it to be through away or forgotten about...