Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By AlaskaMC

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2013
Crealock 37

sailak is on a distinguished road
Lacking Basic Knowledge

I'm new to sailing and boat ownership. The wife and I have only been doing this for 5 years, granted I have a lot more knowledge/experience now than when we started but I still know there is much I don't know.

I'm amazed sometimes by just how little knowledge some owners have. This past week the Admiral and I were starting the winterizing of our Crealock. The winds had been pretty brisk and I was waiting for them to subside before taking the Genoa off when I noticed an owner rolling his Genny out. I walked down to give a hand and find him with the fuller line on an electric winch as he furled the sail. He commented that the sail wouldn't come down, that he wasn't sure why. A quick look at the top of te fuller made it obvious he had the halyard wrapped. I mentioned that saying the red line is wrapped around the halyard. He replied that "this" (his spinnaker halyard) is the halyard. I pointed out which halyard was the correct one and pointed out where it was wrapped.

I was a bit surprised at his lack of knowledge about his boat. He's owned it for at least as long as I've had a boat. If someone didn't know a lot about an engine or transmission I understand, but a sailor should at least know which halyard is which.

S/V Elnora
Pacific Seacraft "Crealock" 37 #312

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-18-2013
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
Re: Lacking Basic Knowledge