Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2013

mattt is on a distinguished road
Stopping your boat

I'm new to sailing and have been taught a few ways to stop a sailboat, they all seem to work fine. But I'm curious to hear opinions of more experienced skippers.

• Turn upwind, luff the sails
• Backwind the jib to heave-to
• When in doubt, let it out? Let out the main and let the weather helm do its thing?

Or something else?

Ideally I'm looking for two things.

• The first method I want to know is the fastest way to stop the boat under sail, for when I am still the skipper. My first guess is tacking into a heave-to.

• The second method I want to know is the easiest way to stop the boat under sail, for when I have a guest aboard and need to teach them in a single sentence what to do with the boat if I go overboard. Something simple and easy to remember even if you've never done it. I normally assume just letting go of all controls would be the way to go.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-20-2013

gamayun is on a distinguished road
Re: Stopping your boat

If you want to stop dead in the water, whatever you decide to do, don't forget to drop the sails or you'll just start sailing again. At least bare poles will slow you down more.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

s/v Kynntana
Freedom 38
Old 09-20-2013

overbored is on a distinguished road