Join Date: Oct 2007
Thanked 27 Times in 20 Posts
Rep Power: 7
Re: Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's
Originally Posted by overbored
if you are overtaking and before the overlap you are the burdened boat, as soon as there is an overlap to leeward you are no longer the overtaking boat, you are now the leeward boat and have right a way
The way I read (a) is that the overtaking rules apply to sailboats too.
The way I read (d) is that even if you get an overlap you do not instantly switch to either crossing or leeward you were burdened as an overtaking boat and continue to be thus burdened until their is no longer any risk of collision ie. fully clear.
This is standard ColRegs though. Obviously racing rules are different.
(a) Notwithstanding anything contained in the Rules of Part B, Sections I
and II, any vessel overtaking any other shall keep out of the way of the
vessel being overtaken.
(b) A vessel shall be deemed to be overtaking when coming up with
another vessel from a direction more than 22.5 degrees abaft her beam, that
is, in such a position with reference to the vessel she is overtaking, that at
night she would be able to see only the sternlight of that vessel but neither
of her sidelights.
(c) When a vessel is in any doubt as to whether she if overtaking another,
she shall assume that this is the case and act accordingly.
(d) Any subsequent alteration of the bearing between the two vessels shall not
make the overtaking vessel a crossing vessel within the meaning of these
Rules or relieve her of the duty of keeping clear of the overtaken vessel until
she is finally past and clear.
The lesson from the Icarus story is not about human failing.
It is a lesson about the limitations of wax as an adhesive.
If you have an engineering problem solve it.