Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's - SailNet Community
 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 Old 09-26-2013 Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
davidpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Madison
Posts: 4,043
Thanks: 273
Thanked 62 Times in 53 Posts
Rep Power: 8
 
Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's

I've raced a very little but usually I'm so busy grinding something I never get a chance to look up and see what is going on so pardon a dumb question.

About three races from the end the boats touched and the Kiwi's got a penalty.

Could someone explain that.
It looked to me like the american boat came up from behind which in normal rules would mean it was burdened but apparently the rules are different in racing.

So exactly what happened and why?
cpeek likes this.

The lesson from the Icarus story is not about human failing.
It is a lesson about the limitations of wax as an adhesive.
If you have an engineering problem solve it.
davidpm is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 Old 09-26-2013
Senior Member
 
SchockT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,439
Thanks: 1
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 4
 
Re: Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's

As soon as the leeward boat gains an overlap they become the right of way boat, and the windward boat has to keep clear.the leftward boat can then luff up and windward has to go with them. Windward can not come back down until leftward bears off. ETNZe came down to them and bumped them. I suspect they had very little steerage because both boats were almost stopped.

1979 Santana 30 Tall Rig
Hull#101

Last edited by SchockT; 09-26-2013 at 09:38 PM.
SchockT is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #3 of 30 Old 09-26-2013
Battered and Bruised
 
Silvio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 5
 
Re: Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's

My take (and only my limited understanding of these things) is that Oracle managed to overlap Emirates and were to leeward while both were on the same tack making Emirates the give way vessel. WHen Emirates failed "to do all they were able" to bear away and avoid contact they were assessed a penalty. I don't think the penalty mattered for all practical purposes since the Kiwis were then stalled out completely after making contact.

SV S.S.R.I
It's my happy pill
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Silvio is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #4 of 30 Old 09-26-2013 Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
davidpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Madison
Posts: 4,043
Thanks: 273
Thanked 62 Times in 53 Posts
Rep Power: 8
 
Re: Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's

I normal rules of the road I don't believe it works this way.

The rule that supersede all others is that if you are the burdened boat, in this case the overtaking boat their is nothing you can do to shift the burden to the other boat.
You have to give way until their is no risk of collision.

It makes sense that it would be different in a race though.
Couldn't the kiwi's just fallen off enough to stay in front of the US boat?

The lesson from the Icarus story is not about human failing.
It is a lesson about the limitations of wax as an adhesive.
If you have an engineering problem solve it.
davidpm is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #5 of 30 Old 09-26-2013
Senior Member
 
BarryL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,821
Thanks: 4
Thanked 50 Times in 45 Posts
Rep Power: 13
 
Re: Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's

Hi,

This is standard rules of the road stuff. Oracle was behind and had to keep clear of a boat ahead. Then they sailed 'under' NZ and gained an overlap. At this point they were no longer behind, but were on the same tack and were leeward. The rules state that windward must keep clear of leeward. A leeward boat can come up and the windward boat must keep clear. Since NZ didn't 'do all they were able to do' to keep clear, and eventually hit Oracle, they were assessed a penalty.

At least that's my understanding!

Barry

Barry Lenoble
Deep Blue C, 2002 C&C 110
Mt. Sinai, NY

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BarryL is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #6 of 30 Old 09-26-2013
Last Man Standing
 
smackdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14,566
Thanks: 153
Thanked 149 Times in 142 Posts
Rep Power: 10
     
Re: Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's

My favorite part of that was BenA throwing up his arms yelling "Hey, we're trying to tack here!"

Tack? Back to the starting line? Nice.
T34C likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/V Dawn Treader - 1989 Hunter Legend 40
smackdaddy is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #7 of 30 Old 09-26-2013 Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
davidpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Madison
Posts: 4,043
Thanks: 273
Thanked 62 Times in 53 Posts
Rep Power: 8
 
Re: Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryL View Post
Hi,

This is standard rules of the road stuff.
Barry
That's my point.
I think this is a racing modification to standard rules.

If you are ahead of me and we are cruising and your in an old tub with blown out sails and can't point too well and I've got a race boat that can point 35 true and sneak in an overlap on your leeward side that fact that I was the aggressor and was behind means even if I make myself the leeward boat I still have to keep clear.

As the burdened boat I can't do anything to force you to move.

No more than if I'm on your starboard side about 125 degrees off your bow and I think I'm clever and maneuver my boat so I'm 115 degrees off your bow thinking that I shifted the burden to you.
It doesn't work that way.

Once I have the burden which be definition is only in a situation where a risk of collision occurs I have to give way until their is no longer any risk of collision I can't in any way just shift it to you.

I tried to read the 55 times overlap is used in the rules and they were incomprehensible to me so maybe a real racer can give a simplified version.

The lesson from the Icarus story is not about human failing.
It is a lesson about the limitations of wax as an adhesive.
If you have an engineering problem solve it.
davidpm is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #8 of 30 Old 09-27-2013
Senior Member
 
WoobaGooba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 3
 
Re: Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's

Before the start signal, a boat establishing an overlap from behind and leeward (aka a "hook") has the right to bring the windward boat head to wind and hold it there (caveat must give windward boat opportunity to get clear). After the start signal, the leeward boat must bear away to proper course.

Rules are here http://www.sailing.org/tools/documen...5B13376%5D.pdf

Cheers
WoobaGooba is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
The Following User Says Thank You to WoobaGooba For This Useful Post:
davidpm (09-27-2013)
post #9 of 30 Old 09-27-2013
Senior Member
 
Omatako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Posts: 2,558
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 12
 
Re: Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidpm View Post
If you are ahead of me and we are cruising and your in an old tub with blown out sails and can't point too well and I've got a race boat that can point 35 true and sneak in an overlap on your leeward side that fact that I was the aggressor and was behind means even if I make myself the leeward boat I still have to keep clear.
Actually no. The rules on right of way for sailing boats say that when two boats are on the same tack, the weather boat keeps clear. This is not just a racing rule.

The process of "luffing" another boat is a firm and uncontestable tactic in racing. So it's not about any logic like "Why would anyone tack at a time like that". It's about "I have the right to go up to weather right here and you legally have to get the heck out of my way". The luffing boat does not need a reason.

But if, in the process of luffing, the luffing boat would not come up against the side of the weather boat (overlap) then it's not a legal luff. So you can't come up from behind a boat on his leeward side and then turn up to weather setting a course that puts him in your path because you then do not have overlap and you're actually the clear astern boat and he has the right of way.

It's easier to explain this when you have toy boats on a table

And it's not about contact. If you are to windward of me and you prevent me from sailing the course I want to sail, then you have a penalty. Boats don't have to touch.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________

"Two possibilities exist: Either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying."

Arthur C. Clarke
Omatako is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #10 of 30 Old 09-27-2013
Master Mariner
 
capta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: somewhere in the Windward or Leeward Islands
Posts: 2,234
Thanks: 34
Thanked 110 Times in 105 Posts
Rep Power: 5
 
Re: Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's

In racing, from what I understand, the rules are somewhat different and the term "right of way" still applies, possibly for simplicity's sake.
Collisions and forcing a boat to turn away because one has the right of way are not something that coincides with the collregs. It is a whole different ball of wax, because in racing no boat is obliged to avoid a collision; it's up to the race committee to decide who is at fault, not the USCG. These are not laws we are talking about, but rules for racing.
I must admit, I was shocked that the USCG did not stick their unwelcome nose into it, but I guess someone had the sense to rein them in. They did get involved after Mr. Simpson's death and forced the wind speed limitations, which the race committee had to abide by.
Had there not been a fatality before the races began, it may have been a much different series.

"Any idiot can make a boat go; it takes a sailor to stop one." Spike Africa aboard the schooner Wanderer in Sausalito, Ca. 1964.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

facebook.com/svskippingstone
Our Videos;

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
capta is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

By choosing to post the reply above you agree to the rules you agreed to when joining Sailnet.
Click Here to view those rules.

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the SailNet Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Please note: After entering 3 characters a list of Usernames already in use will appear and the list will disappear once a valid Username is entered.


User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
keeping in touch..Ipod-touch?? jobi Gear & Maintenance 5 05-24-2010 12:13 PM
Sailing: Sanderson pays penalty for going off course (Times Online) NewsReader News Feeds 0 07-31-2006 08:15 PM
?Death penalty is OK while popular? (INQ7.net) NewsReader News Feeds 0 06-13-2006 03:15 PM
720 penalty bqyc Racing 2 05-27-2001 08:22 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome