Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2013
Laugther is Good Medicine

HighFly_27 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to HighFly_27 Send a message via MSN to HighFly_27
Mast Life and When to Replace It ?

Boat Info: 1970 Islander 37 M S

I've searched for information but did not find a lot about the method used to evaluate a mast and when to replace it.

My mast has some (2 inches) corrosion at the base but nothing visible up the tube.

I read where racing boats have their mast's replaced due to.... cumulative stress loading. I'm a airplane mechanic and understand why a alum. mast is stain hardened and becomes brittle & fails under heavy load... specifically in a raced boat.

My question is geared against a non raced boat but 43 years old. Logic may dictate.. it may/ should be at the end of it's service life. If I was inspecting it in the airplane world... I'd strip the paint and inspect it for cracks and return it to service if found A Ok. I have the mast off the I-37 and did not see a bending set in the mast.

My reason for asking this question is receive advice, & what others have learned over the years. I understand the saying... if it ain't broke, don't fix it. I'm concerned about sailing in higher wind conditions and my mast fails. I could address the 42 year old mast now and save a much higher $$ expense, should it fail at sea. I was pricing new masts, they run about $ 4 K.

Note, the hull is in good shape, blister/ defect free. A lot of money has been spent on this boat. If I bought a new mast... it would not be throwing money away against a boat that need's everything else to be seaworthy.

Avery

Last edited by HighFly_27; 10-01-2013 at 04:01 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-01-2013