SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Charting a course (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/104385-charting-course.html)

ltgoshen 10-03-2013 02:24 PM

Charting a course

Charting a course,
is there a Marine chart route planner available on line that one could use to get waypoints and plan a trip. then go to the boat and upload them into the Garmin map215?
So to make my point, I would like to find a map / chart on the internet net and mark way way down the map making references to the channel marks and LON/LAT. that way when i get to the boat I could put them into a route and go sailing?
I'm new at this stuff and this may have been over a lot here and there. I searched the sight for an answer before I posted with not much in the way of the answer I need.
Cheers, And thanks in advance for any light you may shead on this.

steve77 10-03-2013 02:34 PM

Re: Charting a course

Have you looked into Garmin HomePort: https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/prod64242.html

It's not online, but you install it on your computer. I think you can transfer data between HomePort and other Garmin devices, but I'm not sure. I've downloaded it on my computer but haven't used it yet.

rikhall 10-03-2013 02:46 PM

Yes - there are ways to do that:
  • Active Captain has user uploaded waypoints and routes you can make use of.
  • If you have a charting program on your computer you can plan your route and then move the routes and waypoints to your chart plotter (FUGAWI, Polar Navy, SeaClear and many others - a good list here)
  • You can purchase a ChartKit that has (according to their advertisement and my experience) "Easy to Use Pre-plotted waypoints and lat/long grids for your GPS; magnetic courses for your compass."

Lots of ways to do it.

Rik

pcarlson 10-03-2013 02:51 PM