Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-07-2013

Dave_E is on a distinguished road
Reef points

Hi All,

Believe it or not, all the sailing I did in SF Bay... I never reefed, ever. The new boat is heavy, but has alot of sail area. Yesterday we had good 20k + winds up here in the Seattle area and we went out for an evening sail. The boat let us know straight away that she would tip over scary if I am a dummy. So 2 things come to mind, reef, or let it out. Since I have no experience reefing, I opted for the later and all was good. Monster performance out of the Allmand. Now to me... all 7k (hull speed) was performance.

I remember seeing lines tied throught the reef points of the old Catalinas, but mine have nothing. I've read don't use line, it will tear out the reinforcements, but rather to use bungees. But that might mean trying to feed a bungee through the hole while bouncing around. What do you do and what are your mainsail reef point setups?

Dave
Allmand Sail 31 #15 "Traveler"
GOD, Family, career
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-07-2013

Sabreman will become famous soon enough Sabreman will become famous soon enough
Re: Reef points

Reef lines are not intended to sustain any appreciable load. They are only intended to gather loose portions of sail and keep them off the deck. All the load is on the reefed tack and reefed clew. So there is no need for bungees. Just tie reef lines snug but not tight - they are only intended to gather cloth and will tear out if under load.