Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2013

promac is on a distinguished road
sideways on anchor?

Hi All

First up, complete noob to the forum here.
Hope this is the right place to glean some advice on anchoring practices.

Yesterday on the SE coast of Qld Aus, my brother and i took out his 26ft Sonata ( fixed keel) for a sail around the local islands.
Wind was gusty and strong, 20,s mostly gusting up to 30's.
Wind was NE and tide was high at about 2.4m, about an hour before the turn of the tide.

Most other sailors at the boat harbour were either already in or coming in due to the weather conditions as we headed out.

Going out into the bay through the channel markers under motor, the bay was very choppy and the little outboard we have on the back spent more time out of the water than in it.

The outboard spending most of its time out of the water, was struggling to turn us up into the wind to set sail.

The decision was made once we were clear of the channel, to anchor up until the choppy water subsided a bit as we were making very little progress.

The confusing part was, with the anchor set, the boat was continually turning side on to the swell and wind instead of nose forward.
We tried a couple of times to point the nose into the waves unsuccessfully.
The boat would swing around side on (either side) as soon as we were straight to the anchor rope?

Does anyone have any ideas on why the boat would sit side on to the anchor like that?

Ive been sailing for quite a few years but have never had this happen before?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-13-2013
Water Lover

Location: New Mexico, USA (Heron, Elephant Butte lakes); Arizona (Lake Pleasant)
rgscpat is on a distinguished road
Re: sideways on anchor?