Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2013

lancelot9898 is on a distinguished road
Inflatable Kayaks

I'm thinking about buying an inflatable kayak for use from my sailboat and wonder how difficult it might be for boarding the kayak from the sailboat. I'll have to board from the side of the sailboat which has around a 3 foot drop to the waterline. A boarding ladder can be attached to aid the decent. Any experiences with such a kayak? Thinking the sea eagle brand looks interesting. I have little experience kayaking, but one of the times I kayaked about 10 miles on a lake under windy conditons and my back was sore after the paddle. It was difficult going against the wind and an inflatable kayak would even be more difficult even with the skeg. Not sure if the high back seats will allieviate the back pain. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-22-2013

MikeOReilly is on a distinguished road
Re: Inflatable Kayaks

My partner and I just bought a couple of Advanced Elements kayaks and used them this season. We have the same arrangement, with our boarding ladder off the side. I'm not very flexible, (and am overweight ), but I was able to get in and out without tipping. We have covered kayaks, which makes it kinda tricky. If they were open, it would be very easy, but certainly doable either way.

I like the Advanced Elements Advanced Frame boats (we have the convertible and the expedition). They are not as nice to paddle as real kayaks (we used to do a lot of sea kayaking), but I'm quite impressed with the way they handle. They certainly do not cut as fine a line on the water, have more windage, and tend to flex in big seas, but heck ... they're inflatable!