Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-31-2013

Rug7236 is on a distinguished road
Survey?????? I've never had one

Hey there guys and gals,

I am new to sailing and new to the SailNet. I caught the bug hard and purchased a Hobie Holder 14 after my wife and I's second sailing lesson, and just love it. Im already looking at a 2004 Catalina 22 MKII. My question here is about the survey. I have purchased roughly 4 boats in my life and I have never
even heard of a survey. I'm ignorant so go easy on me as I have always been the 5 times a year boater (until I discovered sailing my little Holder) kind of guy. This 2004 Catalina will be purchased from a Broker. The boat looks great!!!! The outboard runs great. The boat is on a trailer and I have really crawled all around it and can't find anything wrong. $750 for a survey was the quote (northern California, SF Bay area). Any constructive input would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Survey?????? I've never had one-dsc_1427.jpg  
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-31-2013

chuck53 is on a distinguished road
Re: Survey?????? I've never had one

I guess you do live in the high rent district. I paid less than that for my Catalina 34'.

Last edited by chuck53; 10-31-2013 at 09:20 PM.
Old 10-31-2013
A mod and her dragon

DRFerron is on a distinguished road

Generally, a survey will tell you what is wrong with the boat and is usually required by insurance companies before you'll be able to get it insured. Think of it like a home inspection before buying a house, but for boats.