SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   i NEED HELP/Training weather? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/105234-i-need-help-training-weather.html)

ltgoshen 11-01-2013 04:19 PM

i NEED HELP/Training weather?

I'm kind of new at the big boat thing. I have owned it for 2 years now
and have had some great days sailing but no with any wind really. Well
this weekend will offer a cold front with some good wind to practice
in
Here is what the weather man is calling for.

Sat
NW winds 15 to 20 kt. Seas 4 to 6 ft...subsiding to 3 to 4 ft in the
afternoon. A chance of showers...mainly in the morning.
Sat Night
NW winds 10 to 15 kt...increasing to 15 to 20 kt after midnight. Seas
3 to 4 ft.
Sun
N winds 15 to 20 kt. Seas 3 to 4 ft.
Sun Night
NE winds 15 to 20 kt. Seas 3 to 4 ft...building to 4 to 5 ft after midnight.
Do you think I would need to reef in this weather? Like I said I have
had plenty of days in 8 to sa 14 knots of wind. So whatís your
recommendation to a newby in this weather?

Thanks for your help.
Keep in mind my sail inventory
1) Working head 110% sail with 2 reef points.
2) Working Main sail
3) Racing main sail
3) 135% Genoa
4) 155% Genoa
5) 170% drifter
6) asymmetrical kite with sock.

Thanks again for your help. I need anybodyís specific advice on how
the C&C 30 MK1 handles this kind of air.

jimgo 11-01-2013 04:22 PM

Re: i NEED HELP/Training weather?

When in doubt, reef. Better and safer, especially in 4-6 foot seas.

BarryL 11-01-2013 05:38 PM

Hey,

Here's what I would do:

I would start with a small headsail and a reefed main. Then I would beat upwind for an hour or two. Try to get as far upwind as possible. Be sure to do multiple tacks so you can a feel for tacking into high winds and seas.