Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2004

ddilman is an unknown quantity at this point
propeller - 2 or 3 blade

Hi,
I need help deciding between getting a 2 blade or 3 blade propeller on a new Catalina 36 with a wing keel. I have very little experience with docking. Since I am mooring the boat for the most part, I am not sure how often I will need to dock? And how often do I need to go backwards when docking?
Thank You
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-29-2004

FalconEddie is on a distinguished road
propeller - 2 or 3 blade

Get a three-blade prop. Anyone asking that question is novice enough to appreciate a boat that backs down when docking, which is probably the single best reason for a three-blade. As far as prop drag and racing, the only time prop drag has a significant effect is when you don''t have enough wind to make hull speed. Of course, lightweights sacrifice a bit while planing as well, but then you enter an area where there is absolutely no comparative testing to estimate the effect of a three-blade versus two-blade prop while surfing on wave faces. Put it out of your mind and learn sail shape, rig trim, tactics, right-of-way, and a hundred details of sailing and racing, then replace the fatty with something that''ll help you beat someone you really need to.
Old 10-30-2004

paulk is on a distinguished road
propeller - 2 or 3 blade

Most boats go forwards most of the time. Even when they''re sailing. Having the drag of a three-bladed prop ALWAYS slowing you down, always making it take longer to get up to hull speed, always growing more barnacles, seems a heavy price to pay for the .000004% of the time that you go backwards. It may be worth it to you, but it might be worthwhile to weigh the pros and cons more carefully.