Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2013

Bill B is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Google Glass Idea Brainstorming

The other Google Glass thread seems to mostly be about pros/cons of the technology and whether or not people agree with using it.

In this thread, I'd like to start a separate brainstorming discussion to come up with ideas for sailing-related applications and tools, and to discuss their related details. That way, people can start development, and there could be useful, sailing-related apps already available for the Glass upon its official release.

However, I'm pretty new to sailing - I don't have much experience yet, and I have a no-frills dinghy. As such, I don't have the benefit of the knowledge and experience that the rest of you have to know what's useful and what's not. But I'm a serious technophile, so I'm really excited about Glass and its potential uses.

What I do have is software development experience, a desire to create tools that members of our community can benefit from, and a Glass prototype that should be arriving sometime this week.

I expect my first experiment will be to create a simple HUD that will display available data (course? speed? other stuff?). But once I "get my feet wet" with that, I plan to move on to more complicated things. Which is the reason for this thread.

For those of you that are open to using something like Glass, I'd love to hear your ideas for apps, tools, interfaces, etc. I can't promise that I can make them happen, but I think it would be worthwhile (and fun) to try.